Marriage Proposal Stories

I found this site, Best Marriage Proposals, that has stories users have submitted about their proposals.  If you’re looking for ideas or tips, here’s a good place to look.

We would also love to hear any stories about your proposals or even just ideas so leave your comments here as well!

Published in: on August 15, 2007 at 8:58 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://engagementguide.wordpress.com/2007/08/15/marriage-proposal-stories/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I just pulled off a great proposal without a hitch. My girlfreind had been out of town for 3 weeks on a very stressful trip. While she was gone, I started planning my proposal. I play guitar so I wrote her a love song. I recorded the song and burned it to a disk. bought a 22×24 nice picture frame, some matting and a matting cutter. I printed off 2 pictures, one of her and I and one of her holding my guitar and a label for the CD of my favorite picture of her. The pictures were the size of a CD jewel case label. I got online and used software to print off the sheet music to the song I wrote her. I cut matting to fit the frame and laid out the sheet as if it were a gold record plaque. The sheet music was centered at the top with the CD in the center and the jewel case cover pictures at the bottom. I double matted them and it looked just like a professional gold record that you would see in a recording studio.
    My girls favorite town is Saint Augustine Florida so I booked a bed and breakfast for 2 days right downtown. I went to St. Augustine one week before she returned and met with the inn keepers to tell them the plan. I bought the romance package with champaing, chocolate truffles, a nice dinner package and a carriage ride. I walked through the main drag with the plaque looking for the perfect place to leave it. I found a quaint wine shop/restaraunt that I thought would interest her and talked to the owner and asked if he would be willing to place the plaque in a conspicuous place the following saturday so she could just stumble upon it. He agreed to put it above the fireplace mantle.
    With this in place I bought the ring that same night and asked her parents for their blessing the next day.
    Over the next 2 days leading up to her arrival I wrote her a poem to recite on the spot when she found the plaque. I wanted to bring my guitar and sing the song I wrote to her but that may have given away the surprise so I settled for the poem idea. The poem I recited was as follows;
    TO MY BEST FRIEND, I WANT TO SHARE
    AND ALL THE WORLD, MAKE THEM AWARE
    THAT YOU, MY LOVE, ARE A GIFT OF LIGHT
    A GLOWING BEACON THAT SHINES ALL NIGHT
    MY FAVORITE SONG I SING ALL DAY
    THE EVENING STAR THAT LIGHTS MY WAY
    A SUMMER BREEZE TO EASE THE HEAT
    THE FEEL OF SAND BENEATH MY FEET
    MY OCEANS RISE AND RIVERS FLOW
    FOR THE TOUCH YOU SHARE, THE LOVE YOU SHOW
    MY THOUGHTS AND DREAMS EVOLVE WITH YOU
    A GLIMPS OF LIFE I NEVER KNEW
    EVELYN, TO LIGHT MY LIFE
    I ASK YOU NOW, TO BE MY WIFE?

    So it all went down like this, I had a card waiting for her on the pillow at my house that read, Thank God your home finally but before you unpack, put together a small bag for a 2 night trip because I am taking you away for the weekend, promise you will love it. She immediately started with a million questions and I refused to answer any of them. I told her to trust me but this was a surprise, just pack casual with comfortable shoes and light cloths.
    We werent’ booked till the folowing night so I had to endure the constant begging to tell her where we were going but stood my ground and didn’t tell her.
    When we started seeing the signs for St. Augustine on the freeway she started freaking out so I told her where we were going. She was so excited but still had no clue what was in store for her.
    We got to the inn and everyone acted like we had never met, the champaing was waiting in the room with the truffles under glass and the ticket for the carriage ride. She was losing it already.
    I told her we had dinner reservations at 6:30 so we could take a couple of hours and walk around a little before dinner. When we arrived at the wine cellar, the owner told us to sit in a chair he had strategically left open for her right in front of the fireplace and next to the stage where Charlie Brown (a really cool black jazz player) was playing the keys soft and low. Charlie knew what I had planned and played right into the whole thing. I told my girl that I wanted to set the auto timer on the camera and get a picture of us together. I sat the camera on the mantle next to the plaque and asked her to come up for the picture. As she approached, she noticed the plaque with her pictures all over it and started freaking out. She said “Whats this honey, Why is this here, Whats going on?!!!”. I told her that I wanted her to have a special momento of our trip so I arranged for this to be here for her. She was soo touched she was speachless. without missing a beat I told her that I wanted to sing her song but bringing the guitar would have been too much so I wrote her a poem instead that I would like to recite to her. She said OK so I recited the poem. Charlie started playing a really romantic jazz tune nice and low as I recited. As the poem reads, at the end I basically aske her to marry me but to solidify the request I got down on one knee and considering my girl is fluent in spanish, I asked her to marry me in spanish while I presented the ring.
    The place was dead silent through the entire process except for the lady sitting adjacent to us. After a speechless 45 seconds or so this lady says “So is it a yes?” This snapped my girl out her shock enough to say ” It is SOOO a yes”. The place roared with applause as I kissed her and helped her to her seat. She nearly fainted right then and there.
    Everyone in the place stopped by to congratulate ME specifically on the presentation.
    We are now engaged and planning the wedding. Just thought I would share this with the other guys out there who may not have a clue as to what to do. I am not really a big romantic guy but I must say that romancing your woman pays off soooo big, every guy needs to bite the bullet and learn to do it. Period. You will never regret it and once you start, you will come up with new ways to woo your girl regularly.


Leave a Reply

